IDBF World Championships (World Nations)

(Held in odd years - 2017, 2019, 2021, and so on)
In odd years the International Dragon Boat Federation (IDBF) hosts the IDBF World Championships. This race is held in different locations around the world where participants represent their country (member nation). The 2017 IDBF Worlds Championships were held in Kunming, China. In 2019 they will be held in Pattaya, Thailand.

IDBF Club Crew World Championships (CCWC)

(Held in even years - 2018, 2020, 2022, and so on)
The CCWC is the IDBF Club Crew World Championships. Each regional member of the USDBF is allotted a seat for each division. The Regional Champions of each division from the four regions of the USDBF, along with the national champions from each region will be able the represent the USDBF at the CCWC.

CCWC (Even years):The IDBF Club Crew World Championships are held every even year at a different location around the world. In 2016, they were held in Adelaide, Australia. In 2018 they were held in Szeged, Hungary. 

2020 will see the 11th CCWC take place in Aix-Les-Bains, France.  

The International Dragon Boat Federation (IDBF) was founded in Hong Kong in 1990. The United States was a charter Member via the American Dragon Boat Association (ADBA) of Iowa.

Detailed IDBF World Championship Results are located at the IDBF website.


1995 Yue Yang, China
1997 Hong Kong, China
1999 Notingham, England
2001 Philadelphia, PA, USA
2003 Poznan, Poland (SARS)
2004 Shanghai, China
2005 Berlin, Germany
2007 Sydney, Australia
2009 Prague, Czech Republic
2011 Tampa, Florida, USA
2013 Szeged, Hungary
2015 Welland, Canada
2017 Dianchi Lake, Kunming China
2019 Pattaya, Thailand


1996 Vancouver, BC
1998 Wellington, New Zealand
2000 Rome, Italy
2002 Cape Town, South Africa
2004 (SARS) No event
2006 Toronto, Canada
2008 Penang, Malasia
2010 Macau, China
2012 Hong Kong, China
2014 Ravenna, Italy
2016 Adelaide, Australia
2018 Szeged, Hungary
2020 Aix-Les-Bains, France

The United States Dragon Boat Federation (USDBF) was formed in 1997 by combining the ADBA of Iowa and USDBA of Philadelphia.


1998 Flushing, New York
2000 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2002 Lake Merritt, California
2004 Fort Dodge, Iowa
2006 Tampa, Florida
2008 Long Beach, California
2010 Chattanooga, Tennessee
2011 Fort Dodge, Iowa
2013 Mercer Lake, New Jersey
2015 Lake Arlington, Illinois
2017 Mercer Lake, New Jersey
2019 Colorado Springs, Colorado